Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    It's ALLll..the way down!
    Jul 2006

2010 RZ One Twenty 1: Rear triangle lateral play.

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the Cannondale family as i've just purchased my first Cannondale: 2010 RZ One Twenty 1, 3 weeks ago... and am loving it.

Here's my question, i found a slight lateral play in the rear triangle... at first i thought its the rear hub that has problem so i took the rear wheel off to check the hub but everything is ok, the same with the rear skewer.

When i apply weight onto the bike the play is gone... i tried lifting the bike off the ground and shake the rear wheel, the play is not there as well... but i when i place the bike down onto the ground with no weight pressure and shake the rear wheel, the play is back. Here's my take, if the rear hub has play... regardless of weight pressure, the play will always be there... i know this because my road bike used to have that problem. My question is, does this happen to your Cannondale as well? Do all multi-link design have this problem... i tested my friend's Commencal and Trek Fuel, the Commencal has the same problem but the Trek Fuel doesn't... why?

I Thank you in advance.

Cheers,
    Eric.

mtbr member
    There should be no play anywhere on the RZ rear end. There must be something loose, or ill-fitting some where around the bike. I would start by checking that all pivots and bushings are at the correct torque setting.

mtbr member
    May 2007
    It should have no play. My Rize 140 (nearly the same design) is over 15 months old with 1500+ mi on it. No play at all. I have done the linkage maint outlined in the manual, but that's it.

Take you bike back to the LBS and ask them to fix it since it's so new.
    Lead by my Lefty............... right down the trail, no brakes.

mtbr member
    Nov 2004