Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Sofa King We Todd Did

2004 Jekyll 800: praise, concerns, issues?

It's that time of year again - when bike shops offer tasty deals to unload this current year's models to make room for the next year's. As such, I've been offered a somewhat tasty deal (about a grand and a half) on a 2004 Jekyll 800, and wanted to ask those in the know their opinions on this bike.

A bit of background - I'm really new to this mountain biking thing, and I've been riding for about 5 months. I ride an entry-level hardtail that's a tad too small for me. Plus I'm having a blast riding it every weekend on the trails, while this bike was only intended for occasional trail use. In any case, I decided that I'm really digging mountain bike riding and I'm looking to get something more substantial. I do mostly trail riding in and around the NYC area.

So, any thoughts on the Jekyll 800? At first I was terribly cautious about that Lefty fork but after reading the many glowing reviews, I'm a little less concerned and realize that I just need to get over its awkward features. The rest of the bike seems rather nice, as I know I'm looking for nothing less than LX-level parts and disc brakes are a must. For that price, I realize I'm getting that and quite a bit more.

But before I go simply on a few dozen reviews, I thought I'd ask the gang here about what you know about Jekylls and the 800 in particular. Especially in light of Cannondale's recent plans to abandon that platform and move toward the Prophet.

Thought, concerns, issues, praise?

Thanks a million!

mtbr member
    Aug 2004

Jekyll 800

I bought the 800 3 months ago for the same price you mentioned.
    I just love them. Rode 20 trails so far with them and I love them. Most rides where in NJ-Alpine area (very rocky and technical). Few rides in Blue Mountain ans Ringwood park.