mtbr member
    Feb 2004

2003 Scalpel 3000 owners

I've been considering ditching my beloved Fuel for a 2003 Scapel 3000. My hesitations are frame size (the Scalpel is a M and I'm 6.0 with 32" inseam, but I've been told it should be OK as I do like a smaller bike) and the Lefty. To me, looking at the Lefty makes me think the handle bar will turn easier to the left than it will to the right, based on the fact that all the weight is on the left. Is this correct ?

I'd really appreciate any comments (pos or neg) in regards to this bike.

Thanks in advance,

R
    "Atomic batteries to power. Turbines to speed."

Huge Tracts of Land
    re the lefty, you don't even know it is there one fork or two, the system is just effortless and soaks up everything I have thrown at it.

I haven't noticed any appreciable difference in steering or handling with old one leg.

The only downside I have been told is that you can't ride you bike without hands --> so if you like posing down the street doing the tour finish it may backfire --> :O)

Not sure about the rear sus though, but I am sure it is good

LA CHÈVRE
    Quote Originally Posted by Mtbrat
    The only downside I have been told is that you can't ride you bike without hands --> so if you like posing down the street doing the tour finish it may backfire --> :O)
    Well I don't think it's a problem, never heard a Lefty user complain about the fork going somewhere else than where they want it to go. And by looking at Christoph Sauser when he wins, you can ride without hands no problems...

DAN.GEROUS.NET : MOUNTAIN BIKING : CYCLOCROSS : ROAD :

Huge Tracts of Land
    yeah?

cool I will have to practice at home -- so there you go no downers then!

mtbr member
    Mar 2004
    I stick my right leg out all the time to make up for the lefty. Only put things on the right side of my camelbak too.

LA CHÈVRE