mtbr member

New question here. 09 Rize carbon 1 Lefty loses travel both climbing and downhills

Is it simply a setting or adjustment?

Both climbing and on downhills the fork loses all travel then locks, I have to stop, get off the bike and manually realease it by pressing the top red buttons. It's not losing air just travel and it even does this while climbing, suddenly my front end is 3+ inches lower.

Any ideas?

Kelli

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    Hi Kelli

I work as a mechanic in the Cannondale service center in Costa Rica (Central America), and down here we found at least 6 different PBR lefty with this problem.

This is cause by a O-ring in the air piston that let some air flow to a seal space in the middle of the air piston, this air trapped there acts just like an air travel adjust, so we call Cannondale and told them our theory and they agree with us sending a new redesign air piston .

So my advice to you is, send your fork to your local service center and tell them your problem.

PD:
    At least in Costa Rica this replacement is covered under warranty.

PD2:

Sorry for my english, I'm still learnig.
    Last edited by CdaleTony; 05-27-2009 at 08:06 PM.

discombobulated SuperModerator
    Jun 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by moi_2212
    Hi Kelli

I work as a mechanic in the Cannondale service center in Costa Rica (Central America), and down here we found at least 6 different PBR lefty with this problem.

This is cause by a O-ring in the air piston that let some air flow to a seal space in the middle of the air piston, this air trapped there acts just like an air travel adjust, so we call Cannondale and told them our theory and they agree with us sending a new redesign air piston .

So my advice to you is, send your fork to your local service center and tell them your problem.

PD:
    At least in Costa Rica this replacement is covered under warranty.

PD2:

Sorry for my english, I'm still learnig.

None the less, very helpful and informative!!