mtbr member

why me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!?

so i got my Yelli order today, including the frame, wheelset, and pedals. pedals were wrong color, no issue. both wheels have a slight divot to them, side to side. no worries! hell yeah! also received my crank, rear Zee shifter, both rotors.

rotors are mounted. started to assemble the crank. started both sides of the bottom bracket. seems tight. if i waited a few minutes, it would turn again but then feel tight. only 2-3 threads at beginning were ever hand turnable. kept going. noticed my cheap quality Spin Doctor tool was making some marks in both cups. ****. well, it finally got to the "i should stop and do some research" stage. apparently that **** should hand thread in! FML!

was even harder to back out. once out, both were missing the first 3mm or so of threads, and the left back remnants were goobered together with a couple of the threads of the tube itself. Great. just ****ing great!

why me

worst part is i know better. im a mechanic for christ sake. ****!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    2012 Airborne Guardian.

mtbr member
    Jul 2009
    i feel your pain. when i bought my first new vehicle it was hit by a lady within a week. two months later a girl side swiped me while texting. never fails any time i get something nice. the bright side is those of us with the worst luck seem to know how to fix things better (and have the right tools too). hope you get it squared away

mtbr member
    thanx man. i cant believe i did it. well, i have another BB on the way. guess ill have to try and get a local shop to chase it out. ****
    2012 Airborne Guardian.

mtbr member
    so did you butcher the frame bb or the crank bb cups?
    '12 Canfield One! - f\/ck yeah!
    '12 Canfield brothers Jedi F1 - so fast im back in time

The White Jeff W
    Quote Originally Posted by katsooba View Post
    so did you butcher the frame bb or the crank bb cups?
    Sounds like both. Would the LBS have a tap that they could chase the threads in the frame with?