Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jan 2013

Nimble 9 build Advice

New member here, but long time forum creeper. I'm a new rider, started last year on a Trek 3700 that I still own and ride for $200, but have been looking at steel SS frames for months. I've seen the Surly KM, Soma Juice, Redline monocog, Kona Unit, etc. options and have finally decided to get a Nimble 9. However, because I am new to building up bikes from just a frame I'm not sure of what parts to get. I am spreading the build out for about 4/5 months so that I can get good quality parts. I'll buy the frame last because it's the most expensive part, but I want everything I buy up to that point to be able to fit on it. I'm hoping to have it built by summer so that I can ride it then. In the mean time i'll continue riding the Trek. Heres what I've looked at so far:

Frame: Nimble 9. ( not sure on size I'm 6'1'', 36" inseam @ 170#'s, I was thinking Large?)
    Wheelset: Was thinking SunRingle Charger Expert from Chain reaction Cycles for $255
    Tires: Ardents Max size allowable
    Saddle: I like the Charge Spoon that i have on my Fixed gear Road bike.
    Pedals: VP Vice or something?
    Brakes: BB7 or something?
    Seatpost: ?
    Fork: 120mm not sure what kind though, but reasonably priced would be nice.
    Crank:?
    Stem?
    Handlebars?

What you guys think? Can you steer a fellow stoked Nimble 9 prospect in the right direction components wise? Thanks.

29er
    Apr 2010
    are you going to run it as a SS?

mtbr member
    Got a link for those $255 Charger Experts? Can't find 'em on CRC.

mtbr member
    Jan 2013
    Yes I'm going to run SS.

As far as the link I can't link things until I have 10 posts. They are the 2011 version.

mtbr member
    May 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by eurospek View Post
    Got a link for those $255 Charger Experts? Can't find 'em on CRC.
    Think these are it: