Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Huffy Rider

New to the Canfield family

Hi everyone, I just bought my first "big" bike and was hoping for some advice on building her up. She is Wiggle, the Can-Diggle (S) and the rear shock is a CCDB. This is what I have to start with. I will be using her for steep, rocky, some drops, technical, turny (sometimes fast) downhills....and I like to jump. (not big, yet!) I plan to mostly shuttle or ride a lift but being able to pedal occasionally is a plus. I have 20 yrs of dirt bike riding experience on trails, and 1.5 yrs on MTB's. My current ride is a 6inch, lightweight Giant Reign. I live in N. AZ so I ride Sedona, Flagstaff, and Phx. Traveling to Bootleg and Angle Fire are most likely in my future. I am old and weigh 143 w/out gear. Here is a pic to break up this long post.

Here is where I need help:

1. Fork....I want a single crown 180 coil.....but I am open to change if this is not the best option for me. I want a fork that is active under braking and has minimal brake dive....Used or NOS is ok as I am not wealthy. (1.5 steerer as I don't need an angleset)

2. Crankset....I need 165mm arms, want to go 1x9, need some kind of bash guard (lots of logs, not to mention rocks). Not sure about wether to go chainguide/taco bash or bashwich. I can go used or NOS here as well.

3. Brakes....4 piston or 2 piston? I ride 2 piston with 180 rotors on metallic pads right now, and feel like I want a little more for the really scary stuff. (or maybe I just need to go faster?)

I know many of you out there have a ton of experience with these bikes and different set-ups, and I would love to hear anything you have to say about my build. Please ask questions if you need more info. I will X-post in DH/FR as well. Thanks in advance.

Brenda

7MGTE
    Very nice Brenda! I like the purple

mtbr member