Dirt smooch
    Jun 2007

Caution;  Merge;  Workers Ahead! Question about buying konda/Rocky/Norco

I am pretty new to biking, but when I get some money I want to get a hardtail dirt jumper/park rider. I would love to get a Kona, but my friend says their frames are weak as hell, is this true? I have my doubts. Either that or get a Norco, or a rocky mountain, which do you guys think I should go with???

General Rabble-Rouser
    Quote Originally Posted by qgentry87
    I am pretty new to biking, but when I get some money I want to get a hardtail dirt jumper/park rider. I would love to get a Kona, but my friend says their frames are weak as hell, is this true? I have my doubts. Either that or get a Norco, or a rocky mountain, which do you guys think I should go with???
    riding any XC hardtails out of intended use will easily break any frame

just personal observations
    Kona Cowan/Stuff frames I've seen-a-plenty and they can survive a lot of abuse. A lot.

Norco makes solid bikes, but the shore HT's geometry doesn't excite me, and the 250 is too flashy

I've seen Rocky Mountain warranty a lot of frames, there's no hassle, but their frames seem to break a lot more than anyone else's

The Banshee Sirocco is a great design, but harder to find than most, and Brodie makes a few good HT frames as well

Currently I'm riding an 05 Brodie Holeshot and I am having a ton of fun with it while my full susser is in repair. it sprints well and is burly enough for me to jump on

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    Id say Norco. The one25 looks like a pretty solid bike.

mtbr member
    i'm still riding an 03 norco 1hun, which is pretty close to what the 125 or 250 is. i love it, and it's as strong as ever.

kona hardtails are fine.

i would ride some bikes and get the one you like most. don't worry about strength, if you're a new rider you're not going to be casing 30 foot gaps anytime soon.

General Rabble-Rouser
    Quote Originally Posted by mace2