mtbr member
    Mar 2005

going canadian...

It looks like i'll finally be making the move to my first serious mtb frame. I've been riding the crap out of my trek 4300 for about 2 years and in a few days will be moving all the parts off of the trek and onto a 19" blizzard frame. Obviously its going to be a pretty low end build considering i'll be using the parts off the trek, so one of the first things i want to do is get a fork worthy of the frame and get rid of the Rockshox pilot. What size fork is best to run on the blizzard? Right now jenson is selling a 120mm marz marathon s for $275, and I was also thinking about looking into a used fox vanilla or float. How much travel should i be looking for?

Cant wait to get this bike up and running and take my first ride on a steel ht, i've heard nothing but good things about this frame.

mtbr member
    Jun 2004
    80 to 100mm is recommended by Rocky. I'd personally try to find a closeout 105mm 2004 Marz Marathon S. I saw some a month or so back for super cheap, however now all I seem to see are the 120mm version, which likely could be reduced to 105.

Sweeet pick by the way, I was salivating over an 05 Bliz at The Bike Shop in Calgary, the price was smoking, $2500CDN. I had to restrain myself from bying it.

born again
    Quote Originally Posted by wrossm
    It looks like i'll finally be making the move to my first serious mtb frame. I've been riding the crap out of my trek 4300 for about 2 years and in a few days will be moving all the parts off of the trek and onto a 19" blizzard frame. Obviously its going to be a pretty low end build considering i'll be using the parts off the trek, so one of the first things i want to do is get a fork worthy of the frame and get rid of the Rockshox pilot. What size fork is best to run on the blizzard? Right now jenson is selling a 120mm marz marathon s for $275, and I was also thinking about looking into a used fox vanilla or float. How much travel should i be looking for?