Person
    Sep 2005

Dekerf softail help

Well, I went for a ride in the rain last night, and now my softtail feels like it is packed with mud. It doesn't really want to move at all.

Has anyone taken the rear 'shock' apart on one of these bikes? It seems very simple, I was just wondering if anyone had tips or warnings before I get myself into trouble.

Also, how much maintenance do these usualy need? This is my first year on the frame, so it is all new to me. Was also considering making a boot for the 'shock' since one ride was enought to make a mess of it. I suppose an old tube will do the trick.

stealy
    The only problem with a tube if water gets under and you leave it then things are gona rust.
    From rainy England

mtbr member
    Call Dekerf and ask them for any tips. I'm sure they will be able to help you out.
    Tel: (604) 241-1143
    Canadian Parts on Canadian Bikes in Canada

Bikes!
    Or email Chris, he'll be glad to help...
    2014 Yeti SB95c
    2014 Trek Stache 8
    2013 Trek CrossRip Elite

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    When I had a Team ST I emailed DeKerf and Chris promptly sent me out some instructions - he said it was easier to mail it than try and send it on his dinosaur of a computer (hopefully things have changed since. HaHa)
    It wasn't a tough job at all if I recall (it was a couple years ago and I no longer have the bike....sigh).
    You'll need a set of snap ring pliers, and that's the only tool I can remember needing. Once apart it's just a case of removing everything, cleaning, re-lubing and putting it back together.
    It made a big difference as far as stiction goes.
    I also used the spare tube "boot" but made sure I checked/cleaned everything on a regular basis.

Hope this helps,

Mike E.

Person
    Sep 2005
    Thanks for the help and tips. I emailed Chris and he replied quickly, was very impressed by that. Kinda felt bad bothering him about it since I bought the frame used.