mtbr member
    Jan 2005

New question here. Cove Hustler swingarm bearing replacement - DIY job?

Finally found some wear in the main swingarm bearing. I can get a replacement bearing kit here in the UK - just wondered if it was a DIY job or if the bearings need special tools to remove and fit?

mtbr member
    Apr 2005
    I can't answer that, but can you tell me(us) how long it took for play to develop? I'm new to the Cove Hustler (and full susp bearings in general) and want to get an idea when I should look at replacing mine as well.

Thanks

mtbr member
    Jan 2005
    Hi - I've had mine for 2 1/2 years and it's only been the last month or so I've had the feeling that there was some play. I have been told by Evans that a bearing kit is 75 (!) but that includes the bushes in the rear triangle as well. I've ridden through Woburn sand, Peaks grit and Welsh rocks so I guess over 2 years is pretty good. My old Marin FS bikes went through shock mounts like there was no tomorrow!

Hope you're enjoying your Hustler - how long have you had it?

mtbr member
    Apr 2005
    Thanks for the info, Bullet.

This is my first season on it; ride about 2,3,4 times a week here in the Alberta, Canada foothills - so I get my share of mud, dust, rocks, etc. My previous FS was a Turner XCE w/bushings so I'm new with the bearings. But 2 years sounds pretty good to me.

If you can, when you do the replacement, post up the results, as I'll be doing it myself as well in the future; I wanna see what I'm getting myself into.

Cheers

mtbr member
    Jan 2005
    I'll let you know how it goes when I do it. I emailed Cove technical support and got a reply from Brian Kelly. He needed some more info so I should get another reply later.

I havn't actually taken it apart yet so when I say bearings, I'm guessing really. However, there are no grease ports like the Turner has so I don't think it will have bushes? I'll keep you posted.

Bullet.

mtbr member