Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

What a ride

1K views 16 replies 6 participants last post by  411898 
#1 ·
I went to El Moro late this afternoon and thought to go for a quick one hour ride which I am comfortable with, it turns out I ride 3hours and I was not prepared at all. I got lost completely. I went to a different trail today and asked someone for direction and it didn’t turn out to the right way to go. I was so tired and out of water and I was worried if I can get out of the mountain before it gets dark. I keep on pedaling as fast as I could and as a beginner, I am not very skilled to go down the steep hills yet and the downhill I can go down easily in the past seems very hard to me today because I was so tired, and I crashed. Mountain does make you humble.

Question, how I can get better with downhill? Why the more I ride the more I get intimidated by steep downhill? The sound of sliding of my tires make me nervous and my hands get tired quickly..

#2 ·
First, try to always ride with a buddy, especially if you go to an area you have never been to before.

As for downhill improvement there are a number things to do, but it depends on your bike a little, but mostly it is about body positioning and correct use of brakes. If you are going to be on a very long section of downhill and be climbing again it will help to lower your seat a bit so it is easier to get your butt off the back of the seat and over the rear tire when approaching bigger drops. This helps keep your center of gravity back and helps prevent going over the bars up front. Never grab only your front brakes when on a steep downhill section, that will also lead to going over the front. Every rider has their own style, coming from a Dirt Bike background I tend to drag the rear some, but in quick stopping I use both front and rear in equal amounts at the same time. I am sure you can find some much better write-ups on learning some of this if you search around, but those are my basic pointers.

#6 ·