CEB
    No horse'n round

Ventura County: Nordhoff Ridge/Peak

What is the best way on mtn bike to get to Nordhoff Peak? Is it thru the forest service rd off highway 33 or the Rose Valley access?

Want to ride UP and over to Grindley and then down to Ojai (where is the usual parking spot at Grindley?).

TIA

No dabs.
    I've never climbed from that side so can't tell you what's best, though a book I have says the climb from Rose Valley is the shortest way up to Nordhoff, but extremely steep in many spots. I've always climbed Gridley (no "n") or done the big loop going up Sisar Canyon Rd. off the 150 side.

Gridley is a blast coming down. I've parked right by the trailhead at the end of Gridley Rd. before. There is a small cul-de-sac there, but not much room for too many vehicles.

CEB
    No horse'n round
    WOW... Sisar to Nordhoff to Gridley.

So I studied and stared at it for a while using googlearth. Really a fine ride.

Gonna take some cal-rays to get to the top!

Oct 26th here I come!

No dabs.
    Up Gridley/Down Pratt is a great loop as well - shorter and more singletrack.

CEB
    No horse'n round
    Quote Originally Posted by Robo SD View Post
    Up Gridley/Down Pratt is a great loop as well - shorter and more singletrack.
    Good tip. I can see that Sisar is more a road than ST, but much more time and miles in the saddle.

Gridley DH looks tasty

Doktor Rideyourbike prescribed a longer ride so it's up Sisar we go

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by CEB View Post
    Doktor Rideyourbike prescribed a longer ride so it's up Sisar we go
    Good choice! It's 31 miles with 4,900 feet of elevation gain. I prefer to park at the Gridley trailhead and do all the pavement over to Sisar at the beginning of the ride. That way the ride finishes on a nice downhill note. Last couple of times I've parked at the Forest Service facility on Ojai Ave. just west of Gridley Road, as there's been many reports of car break-ins at the Gridley trailhead.