mtbr member
    Nov 2004

Trail etiquette in Sycamore Canyon ??

I started riding a couple months ago and am having a blast up in the sycamore canyon area (live in DV Ranch). I have a couple of questions to ask some locals. I did some research on this forum and in my LBS and it was my understanding that you should always yield to the uphill rider. I have no problem with this but it seems I am the only one that does this. Is there a different set of rules that I donít know about. Saturday morning Iím riding up Guadalasca trail (my favorite trail to climb) and three riders come flying down the trail and basically run me over. The first guy saw me for about a good twenty yards and didnít even tap the brakes. He basically left it up to me to get out of the way or get run over. Am I missing something? In my mind that trail has a very bad line of site and it is a multi use trail so if you canít stop to avoid someone you are going to fast and it was much harder for me to stop on a steep incline ( I actually fell off the bike and had to pull it out of the way for the next two riders). Anyone else have this problem or am I doing something wrong? I love the trail but this left a really bad taste in my mouth.

Not a regular
    Jan 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Galamoor