Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

Tougher than Lake Hodges in San Diego?

I'm a relative beginner and have conquered a number of trails including the north side of Lake Hodges a few times and need something more challenging than Hodges that isn't going to kill me either. Any recommendations for San Diego county?

Thanks

"Ride Lots" - Eddie Mercx

if you know where to go

Quote Originally Posted by West Side Rider
    I'm a relative beginner and have conquered a number of trails including the north side of Lake Hodges a few times and need something more challenging than Hodges that isn't going to kill me either. Any recommendations for San Diego county?

Thanks
    Penasquitos Canyon has some challenges without killing you.

Black Mountain is also a good challenging climb but it won't kill you either.

Sycamore Canyon in Santee has one longer climb but again, won't cause permanent damage to you.

Finally, Daley Ranch can be a challenge but not overwhelmingly so either.

of course, all of these places have areas that can be hard, or depending on which trail or direction you choose to take may seem more difficult than you wish. it's all about finding the route you like!

Check out Bill Porter's site at www.mountainbikebill.com for maps of the places I mentioned.

YR

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Yeti_Rider
    Check out Bill Porter's site at www.mountainbikebill.com for maps of the places I mentioned.

YR
    That would be Bill Partez, not Porter.
    Yeti is correct about the locations though.

mtbr member
    I've done Daley and Sycamore and you're right about those...I'll try Black Mtn and Penasquitos

thanks

banned
    I've done Daley and Sycamore and you're right about those...I'll try Black Mtn and Penasquitos

thanks

Those rides YetiRider mentions are for novices....I say, "go big, or stay home!"

With that said....you're ready for Corral Canyon OHV, Cuyamaca Rancho State Park, and/or (the cup of grace) Noble Canyon.

mtbr member