Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

tires for central coast SLO area

2K views 22 replies 20 participants last post by  wangamachang 
#1 ·
Newbie here.. wanting to know what tires most of you are using in our trails arpund the San Luis area? I wont be doing any serious downhill or any major jumps/drops. just eant something that will climb well and maintain grip while cornering..

#7 ·
Used Conti Mountain Kings, some of my favorites. 2.4 Tubeless. No problems

Nevegals reacted with the Stans sealant and ended up in the trash.(pretty heavy tires)

Currently on Maxxis HighRoller Tubeless. Work good. A little narrowish. Already tore a sidewall on Hazard in MdO, of all places. Replaced with another of the same and we'll see how it goes. If they let me down again, I think I'm gonna try some of the new Schwalbe Hans Dampf.

#9 ·
I'm currently running High Rollers 2.35 F+R . . . I don't have any issues with them, but have heard there might be better options out there.

I've heard good things about the Nevegals (I'm not running UST) as well as the Mtn. Kings. Will check the Ardents too. Thanks!

Keep the suggestions coming!

#11 ·
Me three. on Maxxis High Rollers 2.35 front and rear. Being that Maxxis runs slightly narrower than the rest, you can run their 2.35 on the rear as it's closer to a 2.1 (even the measurement on the sidewall says 52mm, which converts to 2.1 inches). They've been good to me so far. nice in the loose dirt. i like the high rollers more than the Nevagals, which are good tires as well. I just like the high rollers a tad better. Nevegals tend to wash out at higher pressure, and their sidewalls are much thinner unless you go with a two ply wire bead. with the High Rollers I found you can lean the bike over with more confidence. just remember Maxxis runs 0.2" narrower than what's printed on the tire.

would like to hear other suggestions though. mt king is a popular choice. is it a more geared toward xc or all mountain/dh style riding?

#13 ·