mtbr member
    Jan 2004

SS gear combos...

Hi all,

I'm in the process of building up my first singlespeed. Yeah, woot. Anyway, with this being my first SS, I have no clue what gear combo I want to run. Also, this bike is also being pieced together with random parts, so I'd like to get close to the "right" gearing without having to blow x dollars over-and-over to get the drivetrain right.

Note, I'm in okay-to-decent shape and most of my riding (xc-ish) is done in Orange County. The bike will be a Sycip with 26" wheels.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Andrew

_
    Mar 2004
    i'm fairly new to the 29er s/s scene and am running a 32:22 right now. for ME, its a good ratio and is allowing me to clean more climbs than i would with a smaller tooth count in the back. of course the downside is that i suffer in the flats, but the 29 inch wheels keep my speed rolling pretty well, and besides, most trails that i ride are rarely flat, im usually climbing or descending to a degree. many say that combo is equivelant to a 30:20 on a 26er...or is it 32:20?

OMR - Old Man Riding

Try this on for size....

Quote Originally Posted by drgthumbs
    Hi all,

I'm in the process of building up my first singlespeed. Yeah, woot. Anyway, with this being my first SS, I have no clue what gear combo I want to run. Also, this bike is also being pieced together with random parts, so I'd like to get close to the "right" gearing without having to blow x dollars over-and-over to get the drivetrain right.

Note, I'm in okay-to-decent shape and most of my riding (xc-ish) is done in Orange County. The bike will be a Sycip with 26" wheels.

Andrew