Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: San Juan Trail

Professional Tool

San Juan Trail

I'm new to SoCal and want to check out the San Juan Trail. What's the skinny? I've heard somany conflicting stories. Do you ride up a fire road and down single track? Or up and down single track? Shuttle? Lot's of climbing I've heard. No matter as long as there is some killer single track descents.

mtbr member
    Feb 2004
    I have shuttle it and it was a blast! It was 4yrs ago if I remeber right I think it was 12 miles of down hill I would never pass up a chance to shuttle it. It has a little bit of everthing. In fact I will try to shuttle it this summer.

If you have to ask...

Here's the skinny:

Ride up the trail, then back down the trail. 100% singletrack.

Yes, there is a ton of climbing. It all pays off with some of the sweetest downhills you will have ever ridden. There are options to make it easier or harder, depending on your desires. Stay left at the Rock for the easy way (then turn left at the rutted four-way intersection), or turn right (and then right, and then left, then right, then straight) for the more demanding route.

miles

PS here's the start of the climb:
    Attached Images Attached Images
    It's 7:09 California time

Professional Tool
    Hmm............

Shuttle or not to shuttle?

Unfortunately, my trail guide is gonna want to ride to the top. So shuttle is out this time. At least I'll get a good lay of the land.

Thanks for the pic!

mtbr member

... and if we just ...