mtbr member

San Diego Mtn Bike group rides?

I'm getting the hang of my new Gary Fisher Cake 1 DLX, doing some Mission trail rides. Are there any good links for S.D clubs or group rides? I would like to ride more and do some new trails around San Diego.

Anyone up for some local SD Riding? I'm still kind of new to mountain bike riding, but am willing to work hard and learn new techniques.

Let go riding!

Rockfish
    A group rides Spring Canyon (about 9 miles out and back) at Mission Trails Park every Tuesday at 6:30 PM. They leave from the dirt parking lot at the northeast corner of the park, just north of the Old Mission Dam, at the intersection of Father Junipero Serra Road and Bushy Hill Drive. Good trail for beginners, gradual cross country climb on the way out, fun, fast downhill coming back.

Good group, usually 10 to 15 riders, all skill levels. Contact Todd at Zumwalt's Bike Shop (619-582-6440).

They do more advanced group rides on Thursday nights (6:30 PM) and Sunday mornings (8:30 AM)...ride locations vary week to week.

My wife does the Tuesday ride and I occasionally do the Thursday and Sunday rides. However, I usually start my weekend rides at sunrise, usually east county (Sweetwater, Hollenbeck Canyon, Loveland Reservoir (aka Bell's Bluff)).

Start with the Tuesday night ride if your schedule permits...you'll like it.

mtbr member
    Great. Thanks for the info. I will check it out next Tuesday @ 6:30pm.

mtbr member

Good job!

Here's one, populated by very cool people I can't keep up with... heh heh...

http://members.cox.net/garyfox/index.htm

MTP
    Nothing to see here
    Mar 2004
    I just rode Santa Ana River Trail with that Gary Cox group last Saturday. Great ride and great people. Strong riders, all of them.

mtbr member
    May 2006
    The North County Spoky Dooks (sp?) do a bunch of rides. I know they have a website, just don't know it right now.

Was that a Bobcat?

Group Ride this Saturday!

SDTrailrider,