mtbr member
    Nov 2004

San Diego to Moab driving time question

Anybody drive straight through from SD to Moab? I have never done it before but I am guessing 15 hrs +- including stops for meals, gas, etc. We are going next week and I just wanted some feed back. Any insight would be appreciated. Thanks.

mtbr member
    Dec 2004
    Ya, from Temecula.

Its a long drive, usually stop once we get into UT at either St George or higher.

Time is a consideration, you want to make sure you hit the SoCal to Vegas and Vegas to SoCal legs right, or else you will hate life for 4 hours.

mtbr member
    Nov 2004

Interesting...

I haven't been to Moab, but I've done the San Diego to Salt Lake run a few times on ski trips. That's about 700 miles and 18 hours, including gas and meal stops.

I just mapped Moab, and it is further north and east than I realized. Google maps shows it as an 11 1/2 hour, 800 mile run, but I'm dubious about that time.

mtbr member
    Mar 2007
    12 hours with two big stops. That's from chula. Did it last year.

mtbr member
    Dec 2004
    It is definitely not 800 miles...something is wrong there...

CEB
    No horse'n round
    Go to St George, ride some Gooseberry etc, then drive on 5 more hours and hit it. Once you run the trails of SW Utah, you may skip the additional driving (read GAS MONEY).

IMO, SW Utah has LOTS for great riding. Me, I have not driven north of St George since 1984 ( my honeymoon trip).

Ride ON!

mtbr member