mtbr member
    Jul 2006

San Diego: Beginner's Trail?

Hey Guys/Gals -

So I'm just getting started. I've got a buddy who's a very experienced rider (recently moved here), and he's offered to dumb his skills down for a day and hit a trail with me tomorrow.

The problem is: I don't know where to suggest we go.

I've been scanning various forums, and since I live in South Bay, actually took a drive out to Otay Lakes, and the Home Depot Hills (H Street). From what I've read, Otay Lake is pretty calm; the Home Depot Hills seems a bit more trying.

Today while checking out the trail head at Otay Lakes, I saw a pretty good size rattler hanging out; he made a good amount of noise at me, in the event I was paying attention (I guess).

I'm comfortable on a bike, but a tad nervous that I'll jump on my first switchbacks and take a fang in the leg on account of my inexperience.

Thoughts? I don't mind leaving South Bay. I actually considered the UCSD trails...but the list of trails I've been perusing seem to be outdated.

Any help y'all can throw would be appreciated.

Thanks!
    Last edited by tglinatsis; 07-02-2006 at 07:05 PM. Reason: Added question mark to topic title
    ----------------------
    Turnip Network
    ----------------------

mtbr member
    Jul 2006
    Okay, so after posting this, I did a little more digging in the forums.

It sounds like I'm going to flip a coin and either do Otay Lakes or Sweetwater South.

Sorry for the post...I should have searched first.
    ----------------------
    Turnip Network
    ----------------------

mtbr member

Sweetwater lake