mtbr member
    Oct 2007

Noob with some questions!

Since this is my first post I will start off by introducing myself. My name is Shane and I live in S.D., I'm new to MB's but I used to ride/race BMX when I was a kid.

About 2 months ago I bought an 08 GF Tassajara disc and have been hooked since. I try to ride at least twice a week but with my schedule its tough. I have ridden many times in Mission Trails and once in Sycamore canyon which basically sums up my experience.

Now on with the questions-
    I am getting bored of the scenery with the local San Diego trails and would like to hit up some better single track with more trees, where is a good place for this within an hours drive from San Diego?

I have read alot about Noble and was wondering how good of a rider you need to be to take on that challenge? Also, if there are some trails similar to Noble but not as long that simulates the same difficulty that would help. I realize I am still a beginner and I know my limitations so if Noble is out of the question that is fine for now, I can work up to it!

Last question, does anyone know of any pump tracks in socal? I saw some videos and that looks like a kickass time!

On another note, if there is anyone that needs a ride partner during the week for the local trails in San Diego I am free in the mornings.

mtbr member
    Nov 2004
    Check out Mtn Bike Bill's web site, http://www.mountainbikebill.com/

I used to live down that way. Coastal San Diego is a little short on trees, other than in canyons. You are going to have to drive a bit to get to forested areas.

mtbr member
    Noble has some difficult sections, but as long as hiking some sections isnt a huge deal its an increadible ride. You get a little taste of every style of socal riding there is. Tree lined single track, stream crossings, techy rock gardens, and sandy fast dessertish downhills.
    Ask around about Marthas Vinyard and some east county shops.

CEB
    No horse'n round

Martha's GROVE