Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Newbie to Mountain Biking

1K views 10 replies 8 participants last post by  kegrun 
#1 ·
Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the world of mountain biking. I have been wanting to try it for a few years and finally spent the money to buy a bike. Now what I have is probably not the best, but I was talking to the guy at the shop who said he was a rider and stated for beginners, what i got is a great bike and a great deal.

I picked up a 2007 Diamondback Response. I road it once on Sunday around the neighborhood and I like it.

I'm on here to maybe get some pointers and maybe some spots that are good for beginners. Im in Long Beach and work in the Irvine area.

I thank you in advance for the responses!!! :thumbsup:

#2 ·
Don't worry too much about the bike at this point, just focus on getting used to it and making sure you have it set up right...saddle position, bar height, etc. Hopefully the shop helped you with that, if not, I'd go back and ask them to help you. My friend started me out riding in Peters Canyon in Tustin Ranch...its a good place for beginners. But depending on how much riding experience you have, you might take a few rides on paved bike paths first just to get a feel for the bike, build up some fitness, and make sure you are comfortable with balance, etc. Hopefully you got a helmet and either a camelback or a water bottle holder. It's getting hot out now, so make sure you drink enough water when riding. Enjoy!

#4 ·
Thanks for responding guys. I really really appreciate the information. I'm glad that there is a fellow LB'er here too. Maybe in the near future we can get together for a ride. I'm always looking for new friends and now riding buddies.

Thanks again guys.

- Just picked up a camelback for this nasty nasty heat!!!

#7 ·
pedalingnowhere said:
Hello Everyone,