mtbr member

New question here. New to SD.. Any trail suggestions?

I'm new to San Diego and have only ridden La Costa reserve and Iron Mountain(courtesy of mountain bike bill). Any suggestions on which trails I should be riding instead of the above mentioned? Some info.. I'm not a fan of trails that consist of mostly fire roads, since they are more roads than trails.. Also, the more technical the better, prefferably going downwards. And I understand that in order to descend, you must ascend. I'm not afraid to climb, as long as there's something deliciously gratifying on the other side. Thanks!

just rub some dirt on it
    Nov 2005

Elfin Forest

I would hit up Elfin Forest. I think it is one of the most over looked systems in SD.
    The "Way Up" trail keeps alot of people away. I take "Way Up" to "Tykes" to "Mariposa"
    to the Ridgeline Maintenance road to "Manaznita" to the Elfin Forest look out to "Equine Incline" to "Me-xal" and hook back up to the "Way up" trail for the descent to the trail head. You can throw in the Hodges Overlook to add some miles but it was closed the
    last time I was up there due to the fires we had last Oct. Very fun, middle of the road tech single track. It can also get very hot up there so pick times when it will be cooler.
    Also check out www.mtbbill.com .
    No paper mache bikes allowed.

Silence and Thunder...
    ...every day sends future to past...

mtbr member

Good deal!

I'll be sure to check these trails out. Much appreciated!

mtbr member
    What part of town do you live in? I'd say add Ellie Lane to your Iron Mountain ride. Check out Mt. Woodson (Lake Poway), Ted Williams (Meadowbrook), Cleavenger (out past Wild Animal Park) and "trail in the Alpine area" (I'm not saying a word).

Master of the Face Plant
    Feb 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by NoShirt