Thread: Need a Light

mtbr member

Idea! Need a Light

Hey I'm new to the whole bike light thing and I was wondering what lights work well for you guys that use them? I would like something that can be attached and taken off quickly, since I would like to use the same light for my commuter and mountain bike. And I dont want to spend a ridiculous amount of money on something, I was thinking around $100 should get me something decent. Any suggestions? Please post links or pics if you can.

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    100 won't get you high performance. the really good lights go for quite a lot more than that. depends on what kind of riding you want to do with the light as to whether or not a 100 dollar light will get by. for racing at night we use high end LED lights.
    My wife's website....
    Allison Mann

mtbr member
    There is a whole forum dedicated to lights on this site. Many, many to choose from. The only light that comes to mind for ~$100 is the magicshine unit. People have given mixed reports on it. As with most things you get what you pay for. I'd say expect to pay around $300.00 for a "decent" minimum light. A light is not a place to try and save money. Things come up real fast in the dark.
    Night rider makes some really small LED lights with external battery packs. But again there are many brands.

mtbr member
    I was looking at this one and they claim:

"250 lumens is plenty bright for a bar light during night races, and more than enough for daily commuting duties"

Anyone have experience with it?

I <3 Dirt
    Quote Originally Posted by XRC800
    I was looking at this one and they claim:

"250 lumens is plenty bright for a bar light during night races, and more than enough for daily commuting duties"

Anyone have experience with it?