Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Aug 2004

Mt Lion Sullivan Canyon 11-7-07

Hello everybody...this is my first time posting here.

My friend Tom called tonight about 5:00 p.m. and said at the bottom of Sullivan Canyon he came across a very big mountian lion on the trail.

The lion heard him, turned to look at him and ran off. He waited to warn a few hikers with dogs.

Anyway, just thought I would put this out there for those of us, like myself, who ride the canyon alone frequently to be aware. I'm putting my bear bell from Whistler back on my Ibis!

He also said as he turned back he saw something and thought there possibly may have been two.

Happy trails!

Cheryl

Stray Bullet
    Thanks for the warning!

Was you friend finishing up or starting a night ride?

A buddy of mine saw a big kitty at the begin of Sully several months ago.

mtbr member
    May 2005
    which Sullivan Cyn are you referring to Santa Monica, or Orange County?

mtbr member
    Aug 2004
    Sorry, I didn't know there was one in OC.
    e
    Santa Monica.

At the bottom, after the littel drop into the wash..
    Tom has been riding the SM mountains for many years and he rides Sullivan Canyon probably 3 days a week...he said the lion was BIG...
    Maybe P1?

always learning
    I always have my bear bell on to go down Sullivan for hikers and such, now I might leave it on there for the climbs too

mtbr member
    Aug 2004
    My friend was finishing up his ride...he only comes down that trail. ;-)

I think I am using two bells....I was wondering when the fires were going on if they got chased out of their area? Oh, well, everyone be safe and try to ride with a partner.

Stray Bullet
    I might have to add a bell to the back of my bike to compliment the one in front.

Blinking light on the back would also help if riding at night.

Front Range, Colorado