mtbr member
    Feb 2004

Mountain lions on San Diego trails?

Thinking of renting and riding on a buisness trip to SD next week. Are lions a prob? Don't laugh at me as I really don't know. We have bears around here (in snowy New Hampshire) but they usually know you are coming and keep their distance. Thanks.

"Ride Lots" - Eddie Mercx

Yes they're here

Quote Originally Posted by Jaak
    Thinking of renting and riding on a buisness trip to SD next week. Are lions a prob? Don't laugh at me as I really don't know. We have bears around here (in snowy New Hampshire) but they usually know you are coming and keep their distance. Thanks.
    no, you'll never see them.

i've been riding in southern CA for 11 years and have yet to see one. I've seen tracks but that's it. you're far more likely to fall off your bike, scratch yourself, develop a horrible infection resulting in a slow painful death than getting attacked by a mountain lion!

just like you say about bears, a cat is far more likely to hear you coming and stay out of the way. Have they seen me before? Probably more times than I'd care to know but I've never seen one of them.

YR

mtbr member
    Feb 2004

I like the way you think

Quote Originally Posted by Yeti_Rider
    no, you'll never see them.

i've been riding in southern CA for 11 years and have yet to see one. I've seen tracks but that's it. you're far more likely to fall off your bike, scratch yourself, develop a horrible infection resulting in a slow painful death than getting attacked by a mountain lion!

just like you say about bears, a cat is far more likely to hear you coming and stay out of the way. Have they seen me before? Probably more times than I'd care to know but I've never seen one of them.

YR