Think Circles!

Mission Trails San Diego questions and discussion

Hey folks, is it just me or are the loose gravel roads through mission trails the worst roads to try to climb? I'm just getting into mountain biking and I have some general questions that would be better answered by someone who has ridden the same trails I have. When I say I'm new, I mean I have had my 08 stumpjumer elite for a week now, my sit bones are sore and i cant decide if i should just take the leap and go clipless. Anyway, most of those are questions that I'm sure i can search out, so here's what I'm wondering.

First question: Am I really out of shape or is it impossible for anyone to climb the fire road up to the twin water towers?

2. Climbing on the gravel roads seems impossible to me, I end up spinning my tire and loosing any momentum I may have had... am I doing something wrong or are these roads just impossible to us.

3. Can you guys recommend some good routes through the park? I've checked out all the maps and already have about 6 hours of ride time in the park. But lack of know how and know where have me wondering if I'm running a trail the "wrong" way; as in the ride would be more enjoyable if i came in from the north vs. south.

4. Anyone want to bring a noob under your wing for a few rides? I'm looking to learn as much as possible and it would be nice to ride with a group that can help me get better.

If you guys spot a football player sized guy on the trials on a blue Stumpjumper feel free to wave me down and say hey.

Thanks

Dave

CEB
    No horse'n round

Ah, the beginning days.......

Quote Originally Posted by DaveMW