Thread: Idyllwild Fire

mtbr member
    Jun 2011

Idyllwild Fire

As you may have heard on the news, there is a massive fire in the Idyllwild area. As a So-Cal resident, I am hopeful first and foremost that there is no loss of life. There is a ton of amazing riding in that area, and I am hopeful everyone stays safe out there. Post up if you are in need and perhaps we can help in some way. There is a lot of smoke up, even where I am, and I'm at least 55 miles out from there. Be safe!

Idyllwild evacuated as Mountain fire rages south of Palm Springs - latimes.com

No known cure
    I flew directly over the fire Monday on my way to AZ, and unfortunately it looks like it was in the Hurky trail system.
    Ripping trails and tipping ales

I'm your density
    "Two wrongs don't make a right, but three rights make a left."
    Ty Webb

mtbr member
    May 2009
    That picture of what looks like the "spine" with the bike on it is wild. I rode that trail two days before and the Idyllwild trails a few hours before the fire started.

Natty Dread
    Hello MTBR SoCal friends. Very sorry to hear about the fire and it's impact on the residents and the landscape. Glad that it's mostly contained. I had been thinking about making my first trip to Idyllwild on August 9th-12th but see now from Idyllwild Cycling site that many trails remain closed. Living in Nor Cal and originally from the East Coast I have very little experience with wildfire recovery timelines. Should I just forget trying to ride in Idyllwild 10 days from now due to the the lack of open trails? Thanks, FP.

mtbr member
    May 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by Flat Pedals View Post