mtbr member
    Apr 2013

Good beginner trails in L.A. area

I'm just starting out in mountain biking and haven't biked in years so I'm realizing how rusty I am, so I should build up on easy trails first.

I know Malibu Creek State Park is good for beginners as it has moderate hills and is relatively flat but wow that's a far distance to travel.

I live in an area between West L.A. & Hollywood (Fairfax District).

Are there any closer by.

Just trails that don't involve intense climbing.

I've heard of the Betty B. Dearing trail near Mulholland near Studio City. I was told that's relatively easy. For some reason I think that's more hikers but I could be wrong.

I also prefer to use trails that many mountain bikers use. Seems like mountain bikers are hated by hikers, joggers, and equestrian riders.

I think there are some nice trails in the Palos Verdes area as well.

mtbr member
    Jun 2012
    Check out Overview of the Santa Monica Mountains National Recreation Area and Simi Valley

Look for the trails with the green dot rating on there. Most of the trails in socal will involve climbing -- just a matter of how long and how steep.

Cheeseboro has fun easy parts that are worth the drive. Sullivan Canyon is an easy climb for the first few miles and has some singletrack on the sides for the way down.

There is also Fulleron Loop, which is a nice trail and very beginner friendly. If you search around, there is a group that puts on beginner rides there. Good luck!

b a n n e d
    I think one of the best beginner trails is Backbone trail starting at Encinal and heading towards Circle X. Its (mostly) actual singletrack, the climbing is very gradual, and its difficult to get lost. Great place to get started. Cheseboro is good as well, and so is Sullivan canyon.