mtbr member
    Nov 2007

Blur or Epic ???? Help me buy one!!!

Hola-
    Newbie here looking for some advice.......

I live in North County San Diego on the coast. There are a lot of hills here, but it's pretty well groomed (not a lot of rocks, stumps, jumps, etc). I come from a road background and am looking to get into riding a MTB once / week (on the weekends - purely as recreation - no racing). I'm 36 and in good shape.

Anyone have any advice / pros / cons about the Epic vs. the Blur? I'm leaning toward the Blur, but need someone to push me one way or the other.

All help is greatly appreciated!
    Ride Sandy Eggo

CEB
    No horse'n round
    Get what feels the best to you! Most bike owners are very patriotic to the brand they bought, usually because they have not had the time to PROPERLY sample alternate bike. It is rough to get a un-bi-assed opinion.

Read all the reviews in this website, and get a "collective" judgement. Note what users say about "other bikes tested". There are a few riders that bought, set up and rode for weeks and months bikes they didn't like, but that is an expen$ive way to learn.

Good luck and always remember, in mountain biking, just because the pedals are moving doesn't mean you will!

mtbr member
    Mar 2005
    Both are fine bikes - but I am guessing that since you come from a road background that the fit of the Epic and suspension feel would be more to your liking - at least initially.

The Epic is more stretched out in the cockpit and has stiffer feeling suspension with the brain shock and all. I think the Epic "feels" faster in terms of acceleration and such - and the blur is more laid back in terms of positioning and suspension feel

But both are excellent bikes - and no I do not own either of them.

Kirk

mtbr member
    Dec 2004
    Get a 29er!
    Coming from a road background that is the hoop size you are used to!

Lord of the Chainrings
    VPP my friend!
    "Hesitation is the Mother of Failure!"