Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Best tires For SoCa Singletrack

6K views 44 replies 31 participants last post by  Rollin'in'Zona 
#1 ·
I just moved to SoCa and my Hardttail and my new FS bike are set up with pretty aggressive tread (HT - IRC Mythos, Hollowpoint - Larssen Maxxis). Anyway, I love the trails here! But, I am use to riding more rooted, wet muddy stuff back Illinois. And, my Mythos hooked up great! But, now, most of the singletrack I encounter is hardpack (but a ton more climbing in CA) Anyway, what do you guys use for your tire of choice? For my hardtail, I am going to covnert to Stan No-Tubes and my Hollowpoint has UST rims. I am into going fast (but not racer fast) but still want control on turns and downhill. Should I go with a semi-slick her in SoCa?

Thanks for all of your responses!

#27 ·
I second the vote

Grampa said:
... or some other multi-condition tire. I've been using the Fires for several years, and haven't found anything better for general use in SoCal. At certain times of year, in certain places, a specific condition tire will do better. But overall, it's hard to beat Fire XCs.

My in-laws live in Waukegan, IL, and the riding in Lake Co/northern Cook Co is completely differnt from SoCal - and yes, we have LOTS more climbing! There's a reason their called "mountain bikes," and I don't think you can truly experience that reason in (northern) Illinois!
Fire XCs or Kenda Kharma are nice too.

#28 · (Edited)
AMike said:
What do you all think of Weirwolf 2.5s? I put a pair on (rear facing backwards) and am really quite smitten with them. Have I reached nirvana or is this just a false peak in the path?