mtbr member
    Apr 2005

Beginner - Intermediate Riding

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to all of this and was wondering of any good mountain biking trails around Irvine for beginner to intermediate riding. I'm hoping for some downhill but nothing too steep with not too much cross country. I saw that wagon wheel park / peters canyon / santiago oaks might be good places? Any suggestions?

mtbr member
    Jul 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by dragonboi
    Hello all,

I'm fairly new to all of this and was wondering of any good mountain biking trails around Irvine for beginner to intermediate riding. I'm hoping for some downhill but nothing too steep with not too much cross country. I saw that wagon wheel park / peters canyon / santiago oaks might be good places? Any suggestions?
    I started riding in Peters Canyon...its a good place for beginners. Santiago Oaks is not really a good place for beginners. Once I built up my fitness and skills a little bit, I started riding at Aliso Woods and then Santiago Oaks.

Just Grin and HUCK it...
    Whiting Ranch is a good spot for beginners to ride. You'll get a taste of some climbing and descending without the super technical stuff. Unfortunately, Cactus is still closed, so it's about 80% fire road / 20% single-track right now.

Aliso & Woods Canyons is another good spot. Lots of stuff for all riding levels, many different trails to explore. Some good climbing and somewhat technical descents, but nothing too hairy. There are also some trails there that the downhillers ride that are definitely not for beginners.

My $0.02...

mtbr member

Aliso Woods

I have to second the Aliso Woods recommendation. Wide variety of trails but it can get a little crowded on the weekends. You can park at Top of the World and shuttle to avoid the climbs but then you're missing out on half the fun.

mtbr member
    Apr 2005
    great thanks guys. i will probably check out aliso & woods canyon or maybe peters canyon.

mtbr member
    Feb 2004