mtbr member

Any chemists out there?

My wife thinks that by freezing my camelbak with some water in it before I ride, I may be causing chemicals (from the plastic reservoir) to leach into the water/ice within the reservoir. Anyone else care to offer a differing opinion or perhaps agree with her? Thanks.

mtbr member
    Nov 2007
    I'm a chemist

Very small quantities of chemicals used to manufacture plastics do leach into the water they contain, for any plastic container. More of these chemical impurities will leach into the water at higher temperatures and longer exposure times. Almost no leaching can occur between plastics and ice.

No one knows for sure what the long-term effects of exposure to these sorts of chemicals will be, but when put into perspective of all other risks we face, you really have nothing to worry about.

Thirsty
    I am a chemist too and I agree with Missing in Action.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Missing in Action
    I'm a chemist

Very small quantities of chemicals used to manufacture plastics do leach into the water they contain, for any plastic container. More of these chemical impurities will leach into the water at higher temperatures and longer exposure times. Almost no leaching can occur between plastics and ice.

No one knows for sure what the long-term effects of exposure to these sorts of chemicals will be, but when put into perspective of all other risks we face, you really have nothing to worry about.
    Chemist here as well, I have to agree with the above. The amounts that leach are in the parts per billion level and are negligible. Toxicity is associated with high levels or dose of the toxin, i.e. bisphenols (from polycarbonates bottles) not sure about camelbaks however. Almost anything at higher doses can be considered toxic like aspirin, etc. hope that helps anyhow..

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by BrewMaster
    I am a chemist too and I agree with Missing in Action.