Over the Hill

Acorn Trail, Wrightwood

Has anyone rode Acorn Trail lately. If so, I have never been on it, is it rideable?

It is on Wright Mountain drops off Guffy Ridge into Camp Mariastella then into Wrightwood. Looking to find a ride out of the heat.

Dean

mtbr member
    Jul 2004
    I ride it a few times a year. The most recent was in late Nov. of '06. It is ridable but quite technical, challenging and loads of fun! It's just over 2 miles, steep narrow, many sharp switchbacks, rocky and some serious exposure; no cliffs, just long slides down rocky slopes. I park in town and ride up hwy 2 and either take Blue Ridge Trail or Blue Ridge Road over to Acorn. It is a long loop (14 miles or so) with little singletrack unless some other longer options are taken. I've gone up the Acorn Trail once and had to walk most of the way. I've never done that again! Let me know when you can ride it and I'll join you if I can. I'm off for summer break (I'm a teacher) so I can go on most weekdays; which is better than weekends. It is a great trail that doesn't see much use.

Over the Hill
    That would be great if you came along.

When I ride up there I park at Big Pine and connect to Blue Ridge Fireroad by going on the service roads through Mt. High West.

Dean

mtbr member
    Dec 2003
    I am interested in this ride too. Set it up and I'll be there if i can too.

How about starting over at South Fork campground, jackson lake, blueridge and then riding up that way?

mtbr member
    Jul 2004
    Go ahead and make the call dstepper! I have a pretty open schedule this time of year so just about any day will work for me. I rode in that area on the 4th with a friend. We started at Jackson Lake and did an old horse trail off Table mtn. on the ridge north of Hwy 2 across from Blue Ridge. We did the Faultline trail back to the lake; would have done more but my buddy was having a bad climbing day.