The Road Warrior

Is it Wrong to Delay Med School to Go Back To NorCal for MS Degree and More Riding?

So, I have a choice of doing a master's degree in a field related to medicine before medical school that will take a couple years; this would be in Nor Cal (Davis or UCSF). This might delay starting med school for 3 years, though.

However, seeing as how I want to go through med school, my riding time will inevitably decrease, and I may have to move out of state.

We all know that other states suck, and that NorCal is the best spot in the world, but doing all of this roundabout for a MS will cost me years and money. It might get me into a better medical school, though.

Currently, I'm in Los Angeles at UCLA, and the riding is great, here, but it's not Nor Cal. I might also be able to do a Masters at UCSD... but that keeps me down here in So Cal.

Being from Sacramento, originally, I miss the place, and would like to go back, even if it is only for 3 years before I'm potentially gone for 7 or more years, with med school, residency, and all the rest.

What say you?

1. Go to med school directly someplace that might suck and save time/money?

2. Languish and get older but have good norcal riding for 3 years?

Thanks.

just another bleepin SSer
    Throw the riding question out and then decide which is the right step for what you want for a career - straight to med school or 3 years for a masters?

If you can't throw the riding out to make this decision, then maybe you need to question your med school decision.
    --
    Getting old, fat, and slow...
    Business: www.calkayakermag.com
    Personal: www.singlespeed.org
    自転車が好きだよ

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    depends on the masters. the MPH program at berkeley is decently ranked (i had friends in medical school take a year off to complete the MPH, then return to their medical program). not sure why any master's program would take 3 years...