mtbr member
    Jul 2007

What bike to buy for Anadel?

I am new to mountain biking and am living relatively near Anadel state park now and want to begin riding. I have been looking on Craigslist and have seen some good looking Santa Cruz bikes and I also like Specialized. I am looking to spend somewhere between $600-$800. I definitely would like a hardtail although would prefer dual suspension for a little more if it is a good setup.

Does anybody have any recommendations or bikes that the feel would fit the job?

Thanks in Advance,
    Peter

ballbuster

You can ride anything out there....

Quote Originally Posted by tabascoh1
    I am new to mountain biking and am living relatively near Anadel state park now and want to begin riding. I have been looking on Craigslist and have seen some good looking Santa Cruz bikes and I also like Specialized. I am looking to spend somewhere between $600-$800. I definitely would like a hardtail although would prefer dual suspension for a little more if it is a good setup.

Does anybody have any recommendations or bikes that the feel would fit the job?

Thanks in Advance,
    Peter
    .... as long as you have good legs and good wrists. I ride my Stumpjumper out there and love it. Good XC/Trailbike. I have an '03 which has 3.5" of travel in back and 4" up front. The newer ones have more travel, but seem to still climb well. Steve Wolf has a newer 5" Stumpy, and seems to dig it (until he had to give up his bike temporarily because of knee surgery, get better Wolf!).

I also rode my Redline Monocog 29er out there and had a blast, but my wrists hurt because I was pounding down the descents too fast... I was having way too much fun at the expense of my joints.

I say look for a bike that can climb. You can ride a DH bike up there, but I don't think it would be warranted, and you would just pay for it on the climbs. I say shoot for a sub 30 pound suspension bike with 3-5" of travel... something that climbs and pedals well.