mtbr member
    Aug 2011

Water Dog Park Advice

All,

I'm new to Water Dog in Belmont. Planning on riding it later this afternoon. Anyone have any route suggestions for a beg/int rider. Confident and comfortable with grueling climbs but still working on things when pointed down (no drops or really step descents).

I know water dog is fairly small, so just looking to get familiar with it since I'm going solo and it's first time there.

Thanks!

JHH
    mtbr member
    Waterdog might be small but it packs in plenty of challenge.

Lake Road Trail to John Brooks to Chaparral. Now you can take Chaparral to the bottom which has a challenging steep end section dropping into the Carlmont Dr parking lot. Or after you cross Elevator trail and ride a bit, you'll see unmarked right hand offshoot trail, take this to John Brooks (runs along the top below the houses) and turns into Rambler. You'll come to pretty open zone with a lot of options, that's Rambler down, if you stay to the right you'll connect with Finch trail which is a great series of switchbacks down into Canyon, take canyon to the bottom (Carlmont Parking Lot) head to the right and find Upper Creek to the top of canyon, quick left up Finch thru the switchbacks then down Rambler, Canyon. You can also take Rambler back to John Brooks, back chaparral - back John Brooks then drop into berry trail - lake loop back to lake trail fireroad.

You can't really got lost here. It's foggy and windy currently.

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    JHH,

Thanks for the route suggestions. I'll be sure to check it out. It's a local spot for me but I just haven't checked it out but with my busy schedule these days, I think it'll be worth adding to the trails to ride regularly.

JHH
    mtbr member
    It's a mile away from me making it a great escape for short windows of time.

swag ho Administrator