Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jun 2006

Pony Express Strawberry to Kyburz

I have been poking around the HWY 50 Echo Summit area for a few years now. I came into possession of this map.

I had my suspicion that trail #8 existed, now I can't wait to ride it. I rode from Strawberry to Kyburz today on the Pony Express Trail. I posted the upper section to this ride here South Lake Tahoe June 6th Trail Recomendations The trail is marked good with XP signs. Here are some pictures.

Parked at the Strawberry/Twin Bridges post office.

Rode down HWY 50 and found this marker sign.

Got you..first XP sign.

Too many pine cones on the trail. I guess I will turn around. NOT

Youth Conservation Corp I think. Good job guys.

Standing on Wright Lake Road.

Ride up Wrights Lake Road for a few minutes. Turn left on the marked jeep trail.

Nice sign

A little over grown, but not bad.

Nice single track after Wrights Lake Road.

My ending point on dirt.

Had a great time. The top section has a mix of single track and old jeep/wagon trails. I had an encounter with a rattle snake crossing over Forni Creek. We both decided to avoid each other. The best section of trail is just past Wrights Lake Road. The trail could use some love. Some areas are loose and kind of steep. Almost all trails in the high country can be loose. Pine needles are on some sections, not a big deal for me. This trail is not for everyone. I will ride it again for sure.
    Last edited by tahoetic; 06-24-2009 at 05:33 PM.

mtb'er
    Nice! Thanks for sharing this info, photos, etc. I'm gonna give that area a spin soon.

mtbr member
    Jul 2004

thanks for posting!

Excellent map. I'm planning on doing an exploratory up there on Monday.

I was generally planning to do a Hawley/Strawberry loop. I had read that west of Strawberry the XP trail was faint and grownover. But now I'd probably go to Kyburz.

Any recommended routes/loops? Is it worth checking about Sayles Canyon?
    Live to Ride, Ride to Live