mtbr member

OT: satellite internet (wildblue)

Anyone on here use wildblue satellite internet ? I've been using it for a couple years now and have finaly decided to upgrade my service to there " pro paln " which is there fastest plan, and I'm not that impressed, I was expecting much better service for the extra $30 per month. So if you have this service can you watch YouTube vids without it loading after it starts ? Or have you tried Skype ? Just wondering if there is possibly something wrong with my setup or if it is what it is...... Thanks.

Master of None
    Forget about Skype. The latency of a satellite internet connection is enormous, the limiting factor being the speed of light. First your request leaves your dish, up to the satellite in space, back down to Earth, then to wherever it's going. The response then goes back up to the satellite, and then down to your dish.

All that takes almost 700ms. Compare that to DSL which is 15ms. So basically anything interactive will be sluggish, or in the case of two-way audio/video, choppy.

The YouTube stuff should stream ok after a few seconds if you have good speed. Go to speedtest.net and run the bandwidth test. Also check out pingtest.net.

I don't have satellite internet anymore but when I did it was still better than dial-up.

Master of None
    You can do "copy forum link" and post the results here. Here's what my DSL looks like:

mtbr member
    so I understand that when they (wildblue) say 1.5mb/s there talking up to but should it realy be this low ??

mtbr member
    Jan 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by dhoffroad
    so I understand that when they (wildblue) say 1.5mb/s there talking up to but should it realy be this low ??

If you don't mind my asking, how much a month do you pay for that service?

mtbr member