Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jun 2010

Old Question: Platform vs. clipless pedal (specific trail: Saratoga Gap, Demo)

I am still relatively new to mountain biking. I have been on and off for a while and my total trail mileage is really less than maybe 200 miles. (For the record, I run about 20 miles per week and running is my main thing.)

I use a pair of Forte platform pedal + Five Ten downhill shoes. But on the trails near South Bay (Saratoga Gap/Long Ridge/Monte Belle, and Demo) I mostly (>95%) see you guys use clipless.

I have read a lot about this Platform pedal vs. clipless comparison and it seems that the clipless does not improve efficiency much. So I am wondering why you guys use clipless.

For me, rocking with platforms gives me more confidence in trying new/more challenging stuffs. So care to share your story how you begin using the clipless? Or did you guys start biking with clipless? How do you bail out when crash suddenly becomes imminent with only split-second to spare? I ask in this forum because if I post it in the general ones, people will usually say "it depends on your specific trails blahblahblah". So let's talk about the trails just around here. Thanks!