It's about showing up.

Off Topic: Berkeley Mike is Department Chair

I know this isn't about cycling but I wanted to share that I have been appointed Chair of the Photography Department at Laney College. I have been teaching there once month for the last 3 years and picked up my own class this semester on Tuesdays.

I thought the department was poorly served by its leadership cadre leading a formally respected organization into mediocrity and impending termination. So I threw my hat into the ring. It got ugly. We had two elections which tied twice. Interviews with the President were the difference; vision and a sense of outreach and inclusion made the difference.

We were not optimistic but convinced of the need but I found out yesterday that I was selected. We are all a bit dazzled at the success and the acuity that came from the top. I think it a pretty ballsy move to select me over a team of 2 long-time department members.

It has some funny parallels with my cycling work. I will be rebuilding program with talented people within an institution that works at a slow pace with old investments that encumber it.

Sound familiar?
    I don't rattle.

Crazed Country Rebel
    Quote Originally Posted by Berkeley Mike View Post
    I know this isn't about cycling but I wanted to share that I have been appointed Chair of the Photography Department at Laney College. I have been teaching there once month for the last 3 years and picked up my own class this semester on Tuesdays.

I thought the department was poorly served by its leadership cadre leading a formally respected organization into mediocrity and impending termination. So I threw my hat into the ring. It got ugly. We had two elections which tied twice. Interviews with the President were the difference; vision and a sense of outreach and inclusion made the difference.