Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Sep 2015

New to the area, trail recommendations?

Hello all, my wife and I recently moved to the area from Illinois. I must say I'm very impressed with the biking scene so far out here! I've been riding on and off for quite a few years, but I just took my wife for her first time last weekend at Rockville. She loved it! Looking for some mellow, easier places to ride in the Vacaville/Fairfield area, preferably within an hour or two. Thanks!

mtbr member
    Come over to Marin. China Camp in San Rafeal is a great ride, very mellow and great scenery. Mount Tam via Old Railroad, AWESOME VIEW from top, all fire road, so the climb isn't horrible but its just a 7 mile push to the top. If you want something a little more advanced try Tamarancho in Fairfax, not a beginner trial but not bad, great food and beer in fairfax as well. There is also Skyline in Napa, it is the closest to you but a little more technical and strenuous. Lets see there is also Annadale in Santa Rosa, again great food and beer after ride.

mtbr member
    Jul 2010
    This site was invaluable when I first started riding. It'll tell you everything you'll need to know about the legal trails in this area.

Bay Area Mountain Bike Rides

mtbr member
    Sep 2015
    Thanks we will definitely check those out! I'm actually working in Larkspur right now, so I basically go right by China Camp everyday. Skyline was an option at first, but decided against it when I started seeing reviews about lots of climbing and technical sections.

mtbr member
    Sep 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by NotQuiteClimbing View Post
    This site was invaluable when I first started riding. It'll tell you everything you'll need to know about the legal trails in this area.

Bay Area Mountain Bike Rides
    That will definitely come in handy! Thanks!

mtbr member
    Sep 2015
    That'll definitely come in handy! Thanks!

formerly uncle mama
    Jan 2011