mtbr member
    Sep 2010

Mt Diablo riding guidance

I am new to riding Mt Diablo trails, I would be riding from southgate / athenian side.
    I looked at the trail map online but not sure which trails bikes are allowed on.

I am a beginner, don't mind climbing but I can't do too technical or too narrow, can you suggest some routes? Thanks..

enjoying the scenery
    On South Gate, Just as you round the corner by the cabin like house, the last house, and cross where the old gate was off to your left is a singletrack trail and large map station. This is a nice trail that leads to the DAN COOK trail. to the right, uphill, you climb at a solid pitch for a bit and then the going gets a bit easier onwards to Rock City. All legal trail. From Rock city, you can find the Summit trail (across from the Ranger house.) This trail climbs you way up past Junction. I like to cross over and descend the Green Valley Ranch Trail and return to Curry point. Or You find Juniper Campground, and follow the trail around the Mtn. to Deer Flat. This is all wide fire trail, just steep, steep up, steep down.

Legal:
    Dan Cook
    Wall Point
    BBQ Terrace
    Summit Trail (just not to the summit)
    Moses Rock
    Angel Kerley (Single track)
    Old Orchard (Single track)
    Green VAlley Ranch
    Burma Road (juuuuuust a bit steep.)
    The nasty bit below Devils Elbow
    2010 Niner EMD9
    2005 RM ETSX-50
    2002 Trek 8500
    1997 Marin Bear Valley
    1993 Miyata Elevation 2000

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by danec99 View Post
    I like to cross over and descend the Green Valley Ranch Trail and return to Curry point.
    I think you mean Green Ranch Road looping back to Frog Pond > Curry....

not to be confused with Green Valley Trail which is at the bottom of Dan Cook and loops back over to White Gate...

Old Orchard? where is that?

The Angel Kerley ST I think is actually called Diablo Valley Ranch Trail...

Those are all great trails you mentioned....