mtbr member

Ideal bike for Waterdog Lake

I know this is going to be super subjective but, I just started riding again after about 5 years and, I'd like some ideas on what people think would be the best bike for Waterdog Lake. I currently ride a 2008 Mojo and I like it but I always hated the brakes and the fact that it doesn't have a dropper seat post. I was going to change those out before I quit but now it doesn't make sense to dump a bunch of money into an outdated bike. I live about 20 houses from the the Waterdog Lake trail head, so that's where 99% of my riding will be. I ride aggressive and I enjoy climbing as much as I do bombing downhill. Hoping for a few ideas so I can narrow down the demo rides.

mtbr member
    May 2006
    I had the most fun out at WD on an aggressive single speed hardtail. This used to be my local ride as I was 15 minutes by bike away. The single speed make up for the lack of serious climbs at dog. But you did say you like bombing downhill, which assume means you do venture out to the cow-mon side. Do you do some of the bigger doubles? If that is the case, a hardtail wont work.

Pure trail riding, 130mm bike is good. Over the hill, I prefer 160 bikes just because they are more forgiving when you missed.

mtbr member
    I know someone that rides a rigid single speed out there, and I also know people on DH bikes.

I would recommend a mid travel (135-150mm) 29er. Your options are endless. Specialized, SC, Ibis, Trek, Norco, Rocky Mountain, Transition, YT, Canyon, Yeti, Pivot, Intense, etc.

If I ONLY rode Waterdog and had an unlimited budget I would probably get the new SB 100.

rox
    mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    short travel 29er. its not so technical you cant enjoy a hardtail but its got enough rocks and stuff that I think a little squish is more fun. a big bike can be fun too but you have to hump it up all the hills and the descents are relatively short

mtbr member
    Sep 2010