Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Not me

Hitler & Nike Missle Drop

Rode Hitler at China Camp for the first time today. Wish I had lowered my seat. I also wish I had a combo cleat/platform pedal. I'm wondering if folks who ride it well ride it slow and delicate or just bomb down it? All the scree, trees and troughs makes it look hard to bomb down.

Also, I'm trying to get my nerve up to do the steep drop at the missle site. I've done the short, more sloped ones to the left of the tree--they are fairly easy although intimitdating for me since I just started riding. I assume it's best to just let it rip and stay off the brake but it's a pretty short runout. I'm sure my enduro can handle it, it's the frame of the 35 year-old rider I'm worried about.

Surfpriest

ballbuster

I have not tried the steep drop...

but the rocky decent to the left of the raised pad is not too bad.

I found the trick is to keep the bike moving to skim the tops of the rocks, rather than get bogged down in them. On that 'to the left' drop, I would not just roll down brakeless, but keeping the momentum up sure helps. It's a pretty technical climb as well. Good practice, especially at night (which is illegal, so I won't ever admit to trying it myself : )

I have not ridden Hitler since the erosion was so bad the last time I was there. The trick with most of this stuff is to just keep rolling. Try to avoid the temptation to slow down too much, or you will fall over, or endo.

Not me
    The erosion on Hitler is pretty bad. Still, it was a good challenge and I enjoyed it. At least to hone my skills--if I can do it without damaging the trail more. I found it very hard to ride without skidding because of all the small rocks. I did my best since I'm sure lots of skidding is what has torn it up so much. Could barely touch the back brake without causing it to slide.