mtbr member
    Jun 2006

Downieville Classic XC Race

I am planning to make the trip from Canada to California this summer. My boyfriend has entered into the Downieville Classic XC Race. I would also like to enter, but I am not sure how difficult or technical the trail is. I am relatively new to XC mountain biking and do not know whether or not I will be able to finish the race. I have a Kona Caldera hardtail with 4" travel. I would like to know what I am getting myself into before I enter the race. Is this race too hard for an amateur? Thanks!

enter and win

Downieville XC is...

beautiful, fabulous, a gruelling climb and very advanced DH on the way down. I have raced the DH and the XC in various combinations going on 10 years now. If I were you, I would volunteer with Debbie at yubaexpeditions.com to assist her (us) instead of entering this race. We need all the volunteers we can get! She will truly appreciate the help, anything you can do, and volunteers always get free camping. This way you can experience the entire scene without actually racing it, since I would NOT suggest it in any way for a first time race. Get all sorts of miles in between now and next season and you'll do fine next year. Sea otter, if you're in the area, is a wonderful first time race.(usually in April) See you in Downieville!

bb

mtbr member
    I raced it as my first race, but I too would not recommend it unless you are very comfortable/confident on your bike. The descent is unrelenting and very technical for an "XC" race. It is definitely worth planning some extra time in the Downieville area to check out the singletrack though. I've only ridden there on a full rigid single speed, so your bike should be fine.

mtbr member
    How would you make arrangements for a practice run on the XC course for the weekend? The climb sounds pretty gnarly for a full run the day before the event - would you just book a shuttle for Saturday?

mtbr member