climbing optimized
    Sep 2013

dog poop bags on the trail

Is anyone else seeing a proliferation of plastic bags containing dog poop on the trail? They're all over Sanborn this summer. ****ing slobs.

mtbr member
    Wait, the parks don't employ someone to pick those up for us?!
    East Bay Parks AKA East Bay Cattle Ranches

mtbr member
    I've noticed this problem in Chico since I started riding here 10 years ago. Very frustrating

This year the city switched from dark green bags that were basically camouflaged to bright neon bags that stand out and make it really clear what people are doing. So far it seem to have led to a slight decline in bags left on the trail.

Trail Gnome
    I seem to recall this being an issue...
    Bags of dog sh!t

mtbr member
    Jul 2005
    Someday, I want to make a poop catcher like the horses get to wear in city parks.
    Now that I finally have a dropper post, I think I have enough clearance.
    Sometimes Rickety, not a turd

Dropshot Champ!
    I asked a lady once while she was putting a dog poop bag down. She gave the perfect answer...she was heading OUT on a hike with her dog, and she'd get it on her way back...so she wouldn't have to carry it.

Which makes a little bit of sense. Now they either just forget, or they knowingly leave them there most of the damn time it seems.

Lazy mofos.

Hella Olde
    They wrap up natural, biodegradable excrement in plastic hothouses to rot trail-side (or worse, and probably more likely, flung into the bushes). They are everywhere now, including city streets in SF.

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    Dog poop isn't biodegradable. At least not by normal sources for normal dog food. The shit just sits forever. Maybe if you stomped it all over your shoe and walked it off you could say it biodegraded.

I am with the lady though. If it's close to the entrance on an out and back I will leave a bag for me to pick up on the way back. And I do.