Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jun 2010

Do you wear long pants when riding?

I am kinda new to mountain biking. On and off for the last few years and this year I am getting more serious into it. One question: do you wear long pants (or log running tights) on trails? Many of the trals along the Santa Cruz mountain ranges have poison oaks lining up on both sides. It's a bit hot to wear long pants when riding but it seems it's a lot better than getting rashes. What do you guys do?

Save Jesus
    yes, I wear a set of custom (foxwear) thin leg warmers even during the summer to protect against brush, bugs, and sunlight. It keeps my legs pale and beautiful.

mtbr member
    May 2006
    Hint hint, if u want to do it in style, try some downhill/4x
    Moto pants. Otherwise, try some longer socks. But whatever you do, dont wear thise knee cap high socks. That is too...

rho
    Captain Pinchflat
    shorts and knee warmers, or manpris.

Sent by smoke signal.

Ariolimax columbianus
    Yep...especially in the dark, or cut off dickies....shants. I like me some knickers though.

mtbr member
    When it's cold out, I use runners pants. Works great and keeps me warm. If I get too warm, I roll them up a bit.
    You only live once, but if you work it right, once is enough.

-Joe Louis

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    Tight spandex shorts in any weather. Haters gonna hate

(In reality - shorts 95% of the time, it's not that cold in Bay Area. Or maybe my legs are just hairy enough to keep me well insulated)

M070R-M0U7H FR3NCHI3
    Quote Originally Posted by Loll View Post
    Hint hint, if u want to do it in style, try some downhill/4x
    Moto pants...
    Good for downhilling or maybe trail building, but those are way too bulky for any kind of trail riding.

I do most of my riding in the wee hours of the morning and it gets pretty damn cold in the winter.