mtbr member
    Aug 2016

Ca, Sacramento to UT (St George or Moab Brand)

Hello guys, first I am a pro rider, but me and my friends like photography and Mtb! We want to take some time off from work to do something fun when we can...
    So, we have a idea, we picked St George (Dino Cliff) & Moab Brand Trail (Bar M Loop) that are more suitable for newist folks to ride "hardtail".
    My questions are:
    Driving from Sacramento, do-able?
    Can you please recommend more easy ride for "hardtail + newish riders"?
    TIA happy riding...

mtbr member
    May 2005
    It's 14 hours to Moab and about 11 to Hurricane. Hurricane is a one day deal, Moab is a bit harder to blow out in a day if solo, if you're in a group then it will be easier. Pro rider doesn't mean much in Moab unless you stay down low, you have to have pretty good skills to avoid walking once you get up into the black and double black diamond stuff. St George has a lot more easy trails spread out over a variety of terrain.
    The views and photo ops are better in Moab IMO, but you need to get up out of the river bottom to see it.
    I don't really ride easy-ish stuff in either location so I can't help you much there. I did do the White Rim in a day (100 miles below Canyonlands NP) this last trip and it would be a good ride for a fit cyclist and the views are world class. You will need a free day use permit. Both will be getting warm in the next month and both have world class photo ops.

mtbr member
    Aug 2016
    thanks Sean

Life's a Garden, dig it!
    I drove from Sonoma County to Moab two and a half years ago. I was towing an 8000 lb travel trailer, so we took it a little easy. We stayed in the Walmart parking lot in Winnemucca one night and drove into Moab the following day. Did the same thing on the way back.
    Last edited by chuckha62; 04-17-2018 at 08:06 AM.
    One gear is all you need.

Over it
    Jun 2010